Olive Oil

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kmarvel

Reaction score
Does anyone buy their Olive Oil from the grocery store?? Shipping is outragious and I was wondering what brand would be a Grade A olive oil??

Kathie

I buy the Kirkland Pure OO from my local Costco, which I believe is Grade A, but don't quote me on that. lol In any case, it's not Extra-Virgin OO- that much I do know for sure.

For what its worth, I've been using it in my soaps for the past 7 years and it soaps great.

IrishLass :)

+1 on the Kirklands pure OO. I like the Trader Joe's pure (but not virgin) OO too. You certainly can use grocery store OO, I guess the trick is the trust you have that it really is OO, so reputation counts.

I've used different brands of OO from grocery stores when they're on sale. I order refined A olive from Soaper's Choice but sometimes a sale price is cheaper than ordering online. (I think SC's shipping is reasonable but I'm in Ohio and they're in Illinois.) Some of the olive have been extra virgin and some have been virgin. The last brand I bought was Pompeian Extra Light and it does say 100% pure & natural on the label. I like it since it's been refined and I don't get the greenish tint like I've gotten from some EVOs.

eta: You can print a coupon from here --> http://www.pompeian.com/Coupons_Links.aspx

Soaper's Choice shipping is not so bad if you purchase the right quantity. I've used their OO and still order pomace from them. Sometimes I'll grab a 5 liter bottle of Pompeian Classic off the shelf at Sam's Club. It is cheaper than many at $19.95 (today - this hour!) and although "100% pure olive oil", who knows of what the blend consists.

Last edited: