Oily odor in olive oil soaps

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sbence93

Reaction score
Hello folks,
I am a beginner in soap making and most of the batches I have made are primarily made of olive oil and the superfat is around 8%. However, I have experienced that the final product has some oily smell. The extent of this varies with the producer, and it is also present in cold and hot process too. Have you got some ideas how to eliminate it? Somewhere I saw that baking soda would help in this. Is that true? If so, how much should be added?
Cheers,
Bence

I tried it with 4%, but that already dried my wife's skin😕
May I suggest lowering your superfat to 2 or 3%, it is better on your plumbing and has less chance of dos. It may also help with your oily smell, and frankly, there is no point in an 8% superfat.

Are using extra virgin olive oil or olive pomace?
I am using a mixture of the two. I don't quite know the ratios (not indicated by the producer), but the odor seems to be stronger when I use the quicker-tracing oil (so I assume the one with more pomace oil).

How old are the olive soaps when your wife used them? I personally find that my castile can be drying before the 3 month mark. When I tested at 4 months, it was much better.

Some people cannot use OO soaps and I happen to be one of them. You can make lovely soaps without high super fat it just takes experimenting with different oil combinations and low CO. I will re-clarify, I simply hate OO soaps. With a very long cure, 6 months min 100% Sweet Almond Oil makes a very mild soap with a 2% superfat, but it takes the 6 month cure time before they will lather.

How old are the olive soaps when your wife used them? I personally find that my castile can be drying before the 3 month mark. When I tested at 4 months, it was much better.