Newbie on the loose..... lol

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gritty Pip

Reaction score
Firstly, I start with an apology, because being a stereotypical newbie, I'm going to ask a Newbie question or three..... but in my defence, there is so much really good information on this site that I need to hone in, BEFORE I either blow myself up or go broke buying all the goodies on offer.....
I promise not to ask anything else until I have read at least one hundred threads........

so my first question is;

Books...... so many to choose from..... which ones are Gold Standard in your opinion

Fragrances.... are there suppliers of Food Grade Fragrances??
Yes, I understand the difference having worked in Food Business for many years, just hoping someone else follows the ethos of "if it's ok to eat, it's ok to apply to skin".... I know I will run up against someone who wants the 'impossible' ...... so I am chasing a rainbow here.... hoping to find a unicorn on my travels.....

And the key to unlock so much ......... is there a page of Commonly Used Abbreviations????
My level of understanding stalls at EVOO.......

Thanks Kind People.....

abbreviations: https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/the-acronym-and-abbreviation-definition-thread.51841/
There is a complete forum for beginners where this thread is also posted. I would make that forum a good portion of your 100 threads reading.

Food grade fragrances I can't help you with. For soapmaking we use skin safe fragrances. You can get them from a number of reliable sources by googling 'soapmaking fragrances' and finding those that are close to you for good shipping prices. If you are wondering if a supplier is reputable, you can always ask here! (My personal favorites are BrambleBerry and WSP, but I'm looking at other suppliers at the moment as well.)