Newbie here with a few questions!!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

becka_pecka

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm Rebecca from the UK, I'm very new to soap making; in that I am yet to make my first batch! Let me first tell you what has made me decide to make my own soap...

For quite a few months now I had started to notice my skin becoming irritable, particularly my legs. It got pretty bad and I was sure I had an allergy of some sort. I went away for a week in which time the irritation seemed to calm down, until I was back at home and it all flared up again.
So it made me think, what had I done differently that made it calm down when I was away. I realized I hadn't taken my usual imperial leather (shop bought) soap with me, which I used to use for shaving. My legs had gotten to a point where they were so painful and itchy, I wasn't getting much sleep.

So, I decided to buy myself some homemade soap online. I made sure the ingredients were all natural, and I bought a nice mild bar of goats milk and chamomile soap.

The difference of my skin after the first use was amazing! Straight away the irritation and inflammation on my legs reduced a lot! (I KNEW it was that nasty shop bought stuff)
Ever since I have been buying homemade soap and my skin is just lovely, I don't get the flare ups and it's so soft! Then I thought, why not make my own?

So these past few weeks I have researched a lot on cold process soap making, ordered myself a highly reviewed book and have started buying soap making equipment. I'm getting excited about making my first batch, however there are some things I need answers on.