Newbeee, starting off with melt & pour, have questions

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KristelCreations

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I am new to all this, and to get me started in the easiest way, I am going to start experimenting with the melt & pour.

I have done a bit of research and I'm still learning the soap world lingo. I have a couple questions though...

1. Do I need to worry about the "trace" thing with melt & pour
2. how do you make a textured top layer...like, say you have a pink solid bar and want to add a "whipped topping" effect layer on top, how do you do that?
3. can I use silicone bake wear as my molds? I read somewhere that you could, but just want to be sure.

Thanks so much for any insight you can give me!

1. Do I need to worry about the "trace" thing with melt & pour -No.

2. how do you make a textured top layer...like, say you have a pink solid bar and want to add a "whipped topping" effect layer on top, how do you do that? -I have never tried ti make whipped M&P. I have seen tutorials online though. If I remember where I will post a link.

3. can I use silicone bake wear as my molds? I read somewhere that you could, but just want to be sure. -Yes, it makes a fabulous mold, very easy to get the soap back out of!

Here you go:

http://www.teachsoap.com/askam2.html#whipped

"Do I really need special melt and pour to make up whipped soap? I saw some at my local craft store that was $7 per pound!

No, you don't need special melt and pour. Simply take your white melt and pour, melt it down in a double boiler, and while the soap is melted in the double boiler, use a hand blender/mixer at medium speed until the soap is nice and bubbly. If you want less bubbles, use a lower speed. You should add your fragrance before blending the soap."