New recipe ideas

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sethkaylyn

Reaction score
I've been soaping for a few months now and really enjoying every minute of it. I am ready to try something new in my recipe without spending a whole lot of money.

My recipe:
30%Olive oil
45%Lard
20%CO
5% Castor

With the winter months ahead I would like to add something to help dry skin.
Any inexpensive suggestions?
Also maybe more bubbles too. I'm tempted to use a bit of sugar but I know that can be a little tricky to use in recipes.

Thanks ahead of time

Last edited:
That is an excellent recipe you have there. I use 10% more lard, and 10% less olive oil, and 5% superfat with 1 tablespoon of sugar PPO. Makes a most excellent soap. I check my mold every 20-30 minutes for about an hour after I pour it and insulate it to avoid volcano, but the most I have ever had to do was uncover it for 20 minutes. And that was once.

Susie's suggestion is good. The stuff that people see as a "problem" are only a pain until you get used to using them.

Have you thought about trying some milks, in place of water. Almond or coconut milk is a good first step, easier than say goat's milk.

I really would like to try the sugar.

I've never tried the milk but thought about it. I buy almond milk all the time for the family.
It may not be the same as what to use in soap though?
I use the milk instead of water correct?

Btw...I do superfat at 5%

Last edited:
The sugar is a great way to play with your recipe to see the difference it makes. Also honey is good, melted in a little hot water and added at trace deepens the color a bit and increases bubbles. Milks are great suggestions, and beer. I think my beer soaps are my favorite. You have to let it go flat then boil off the alcohol then cool it first but it makes a great addition to soap when used as your liquid.

Have you tried egg soap?