New here with liquid soap questions

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

asherbenruby

Reaction score
Hello. I have been soaping for about 10 years and decided to try my hand at liquid soap. Made my first batch following Soaping 101's video and definitely want to make more. I would like to try making a batch using some of my favorite oils. I have some questions after making my batch and I can't seem to find the answers through searches.

Is there a calculator for liquid soap?

The recipe I used does not have to be neutralized. I don't know why and it was not explained on the video. Only while searching for more liquid soap recipes did I find some are neutralized.

Does liquid soap need to be preserved?

Is there a good website/book etc that explains liquid soapmaking?

Sorry for so many questions my first post. I am really excited about this new project and can't wait to make a second batch.

I appreciate your help!
Kelly
Simply Bodycare
Missouri - ~The Show Me State~

If you have SM3 it does liquid soap calculations. Other than that I'm not sure as I only use SM3.

Because your pH in soap, including liquid soap is high a preservative is not necessary (of course there are those who feel it does), but at a pH of 8+ it remains an environment that does not encourage bacteria, molds or fungus.

Hope that helps at least a little bit.

Catherine Failor's book on LS is a great go-to for information regarding dilutions, PH testing, oils that cloud etc. Her methods seem to confuse many, but I find it a great resource.

I use both SM3 and Soap Calc for developing recipes. Soap Calc has the option for KOH.

As for neutralizing it really depends on the recipe and the end PH result as to whether or not you need to neutralize. Since starting to use the glycerin method I have not neutralized my LS. I find the recipe I've developed doesn't need it.