My first FO is stalking me!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JayJay

Reaction score
I'm a beginner. After making some uncented soaps as well as some EO soaps I decided to jump into the FO world. I made my first FO scented bar. The scent is called something like soapy clean. I loved the initial whif... Well I THOUGHT I was in love. I had no idea that I would soon become suffocated by its relentless interjections into my life.

I made the batch, scented at the soap calc recommended level, molded, cleaned up, gelled, unmolded, and cut it into bars. I noticed the the smell was pretty strong, almost too much of a good thing. During cutting it almost became sickening. But since it was cold process I figured it would die out in curing. I happily closed the door of my craft room with the soap inside, relived that I would not have to smell it again until it became more mild.

Fast forward to the next day at breakfast, I suddenly smelled the soapy clean FO. But there's nothing but eggs on the table. I sniffed my plate. Nothing. Took another bite, smelled the soap again. Sniffed the eggs. Nothing but egg. Annoyed, I sniffed the table. Nothing. Then I smelled my hands. Soapy clean. Ah ha! Problem solved. I figured there was FO on a doorknob or something. I wiped everything down and went about my business.