Molds found on amazon -any good?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kniquy

Reaction score
I am just beginning to gather equipment to start soaping. When looking for molds I have seen some on Amazon - one in a wooden box with a silicone insert/mold. They also include cutters (not sure how good a quality they are). Any thoughts? For $15.99 it seems like a good deal, but is it really? Are there any particular features I should consider with the mold? I did see another one which has a cover on it. I'm thinking a cover might be a nice feature, but not sure how necessary it is. I think from the many videos i have watched when you fill the mold there might not be much if any space on top for a cover to fit.
81dospgHJtL._SX425_.jpg

They worked well for me and I still occasionally use them for small batches. For me, the downside is the shape. They make a large(ish) square bar or a small rectangle bar - depending on how far you fill them.

Iv got 3 of these molds and never had a ptoblem with them hendejm has a point but for beginning they are great and iv found its easier to save a batch with naughty fo with this kinda mold rather than small individual molds with more details. iv not got any lids with mine but i am when i have time going to make myself some. At the moment i wrap the mold in bubble wrap then use about 3-4 towels to promote gelling. also iv got the same kind of straight cutter as shown there and only thing i would say is clean it after each cut.

If your just starting off have a look at soap queen tons of great starter info and videos

Last edited by a moderator:
If your just starting off have a look at soap queen tons of great starter info and videos