Modifying Recipes (Newb Question)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoapDish

Reaction score
Forgive me for my ignorance or if this is a silly question. Some of you may know that I am still very new to this!

I'd like to know about modifying recipes. For example, can I use a recipe I have been given and alter the additives/botanical and fragrances? I do understand that you need to be very precise when creating recipes. I am nowhere near being able to create, or understand how to create, new recipes. At this stage, I'm happy just to follow other recipes until I fully understand what I am doing and have a few batches under my belt!

Here is the original recipe:

397g Coconut Oil
567g Extra Virgin OO
142g Sodium Hydroxide
340g Water
15g Lavender EO (or Musk Rose)
Lavender botanicals (or Dried Rose Petals)

I've used the rose oil and botanicals, but I'd prefer not to use the lavender (just not my 'thing' but it came with the kit). What I would like to use is Lemon Myrtle oil and Poppy Seeds as an additive. Is this possible, or will I need to recalculate things?

You only need to recalculate if you change the soap (oils or quantities), not the additives.

But to change the additives, it helps knowing how they behave. For this purpose, I to test batches, where I mix like half dozen different additives in half dozen little molds.

Thank you Fragola!