Mixing CP and M&P to make a chunked soap.... questions

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AshleyR

Reaction score
I asked this question at the bottom of my "what to do with M&P" post, but I don't think many people have seen it, and I got my fragrance in today so I want to make this soap tonight! ;)

I chunked up a bunch of multicoloured clear M&P soap and I want to add the chunks to a white CP batch. I'm using a 5 lb log mold. How does M&P react with CP? Are the chunks going to melt during the gel phase of the CP and end up not looking the way I want them to? Should I put the chunks into the mold first and then pour the CP over them, or add the chunks to the CP and then pour it all into the mold? Drop the chunks into the CP after it's in the mold?

I really don't know what the best way to do this would be. I have never used melt & pour before!

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated! Here is an example of what I'm trying to do:

MP.jpg

I'll definitely be posting pictures when it's done! :)

I think any of those options would work well. Those in the photo look like they put the chunks first and then the overpour, though the overpour in that one could be white MP.

Make sure your CP is not hot, hot, it should be at lower temperature so that the M&P chucks don't melt. You could freeze the M&P chucks than add them to the CP soap or pour the CP over the frozen chucks. HTH

Not that I've tried that but I believe you would want to make sure that you keep your CP from gelling as that will keep the temperature down. I also agree that freezing your MP cubes is a really good idea.

Those are just my opinions, not experience speaking..... :?

Thanks a bunch!

I'm thinking that I will freeze the chunks first.... good idea!