Losing scent

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HorseGal

Reaction score
I really hope someone can answer my question about what to do about my soap losing it's wonderful smell. I am new to soap making, just been at it for about six months. I was lucky and found a wonderful recipe for fresh goat's milk soap but am having a problem getting it to smell strong enough. I have done alot of research and at this time I am adding about 3 oz of FO for a 4 lb recipe. One time I tried to add more to a rebatch and it would not set up. I have some friends that use my soap and they are always asking can I make the smell stronger. Any suggestions?

Have you tried more than one FO? I find that some smell stronger than others, and you never really know until you test them all out.

3oz of FO in 4 lbs of soap sounds about right. I usually use 1 oz PPO depending how strong the FO smells out of the bottle.

Also, if you are using citrus FO's by any chance, those tend to fade very quickly in CP no matter how much you use. I haven't tried this myself, but I know that others sometimes "anchor" their citrus scents with another scent. Hopefully someone else will come along with a recommendation for that! :)

Ok, I am going to go out on a limb here....but I know I have read somewhere (and where that "somewhere" is now, I can't remember) that you can anchor FO with a bit of kaolin (french white clay). I have some and I am going to try this. I don't want to use enough to make a drying out type soap so I will need to do some experimenting. I make a facial soap with rose clay and I do scent it and the scent has lasted beautifully for about 7 months now. So, I am hopeful that this white clay addition will do the same thing. It is worth a try. I guess I won't know for sure for some months out...but I will post my results when I get them.