List to do or what's your plans?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ginka

Reaction score
I am fairly new to this hobby, but enjoining it a lot ( my DH would say too much!). And I have long list of soaps and ingredients, that I want to try. Partially my recent and planned projects related to skin issues, that my family has: very long and dry winter makes everybody feel like raisins, plus my teenager fites acne. So I just finished last night face bar with coconut milk and green French clay. I am infusing OO with nettle, rosemary and lemon peel for shampoo bar. Another project will be sea salt bar, and "simple lye soap", inspired by one of this forum's thread.
So I wanted to ask you, guys, how you do that? Pure hobbyist, how you decide what to do next? And business holders, how you plan your next batch?

As a hobbyist with hopes to sell in the future, I sort of go by what our family's skin needs are, ask friends what they would like to see in a soap, try out a few luxury bars, and the need to just challenge myself with new things gives me some ideas too. Salt bars have been great for my skin, just like a day in the ocean. I want to give a castile soap a try just to test my patience!

It's fun! And addicting. :)

That's a good question! In deciding what to do next, sometimes I am inspired by what I see on this forum. Sometimes, I get ideas just lookng at other sites. My daughter has recently been into my soapmaking, and she is all about swirling colors. She wants to be daring, while I am more conservative. I also like trying to match colors and fragrance. These are just some of the things that inspire me, I'm sure it's different for each person.