How to thicken liquid soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

walkinwounded

Reaction score
Hello,

Can someone please please help me. I am new to making soap and have started making liquid soap now. I can not find a way to thicken it with natural products. Borax will work nicely but I would like to use something else like Xanthan Gum.
I will dilute 1 pound of soap paste with 1 lb (16oz) of water, then I will add 1/2 tsp of Xanthan gum to the hot soap dilution but it does not do anything, it will all settle to the bottom within an hour and will not thincken, I have tried adding extra water and more Xanthan Gum , whcih will thicken it a bit, but sediment still collects at the bottom and my soap does not foam properly. Please help.

Eric

Well, I never made liquid soap per se (only from solid soap), but I am wondering ... if you simply add less water, your soap will be thicker, right ?

Yes, less water does help a bit, becuase I am cooking/boiling it to dissolve the soap paste, much of that 16oz of water evapourates, and if you take to much water from the dilution, it begins to conjeal back to its "paste" form, so you need a certain amount of water left in it.

Starum, attempting to make liquid soap from solid soap pieces is not making liquid soap. It's making snot.
Liquid soap is made with KOH. Different animal all together. Soap made from NaOH will always eventually return to a solid state.

When I make liquid soap with KOH I use plain table salt. The salt will cause the surfactants in the water:surfactant mix to swell, effectively thickening the solution.

It's making snot.

One man's snot is another man's soap :D I use this every day to happily wash my hands.

It never showed any desire to return to solid state.

Also, I am aware that you are supposed to use KOH, but it isn't easily available in my area.

Deda
Site Admin