How long to cure before you can label & bag?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tammywolfe

Reaction score
Hi soapers, I'm a newbie and have a couple questions. I've been making soap like crazy for a couple weeks and I have racks of curing soap covering just about every horizontal surface in my house. I'm wondering how horrible it would be to label these bars and put them in paper bags to finish curing so I can free up some space. Most of the bars feel pretty hard, there are a few batches that do not, and those I'd leave be until they get harder (hopefully they will!), but for the hard bars can I label and bag them?

Thanks in advance for your help. :D

Editing to clarify that by "newbie" I mean new to the soaping business. I've been obsessed with studying, testing, researching, note-taking, learning the legalities, etc. since last summer - trying to decide if this is something I want to commit to as a business endeavor. A couple months ago I finally decided to dive into this completely and start selling soap. The batches I've made in the past were small. Now I'm making large batches and preparing to sell them.

My labels are paper bands, so I'm wondering if anyone has labeled their soap before they are fully cured. And can you store them in paper bags before the 4-6 weeks is up if they are hard?

I am new, actually only have made one batch.
I do believe you have to let them open up to air to harden and cure and only after you have used and tried one should you really be selling them.
Maybe I am wrong ... but you might want to hold a bar for a few months first to make sure the recipe is good and all is ok with the soap before you sell it.
That is what I am doing ...

I'm only asking about labeling and bagging, not selling. I made some to test months ago. Just decided to start selling recently, thus the abundant supply.

tammywolfe said: