Help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwitte

Reaction score
I am new to soap making but successfully make a pumpkin soap from a recipe. My question is, how do you figure a recipe by yourself? where do you start? How much oils do you use and how many different ones can you use. also, want to whiten some of the soap so I know that takes the titanium dioxide to mix with the oil. How do you know how much it takes to whiten a certain amount? looking for a Christmas recipe using cranberry and I want a white base with red and green swirls on the top. thanks

If you are new to soap making trying to come up with a good working combination of fats and oils through soap calc can be overwhelming.

Your very best option is to go through and find a simple basic three or four fat/oil recipe and then make the red and green colors and the scent that you want.

Until you make soap it is hard to determine exactly what oils etc are right for your skin, or what ratios work in your system etc.

Start basic and start taking great notes to know what you like, and don't like and add from there. If you start out too complicated it is easy to get lost and overwhelmed.

With all due respect, you should never trust any recipe you did not run through a lye calculator for yourself. Typos happen. And I would hate for them to ruin someone's first experience making soap.

If you click on the colored numbers for each section, it will explain what that section is, and how to use it. Just play with the calculator until you feel comfortable using it. Soapcalc appears very intimidating when you are new.(it did to me) Just hang in there, it is actually simple.