help! my body butter is melting!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

christellita

Reaction score
I sell soap at the Farmer's Market. This week, I introduced my new body butter. (shea and cocoa butter, jojoba and sweet almond oil, essential oils). it was hard when i got there, and almost completely liquid when i left!! it was like 95 degrees out. Is this normal? how can i avoid this??
Thanks!

Hey Christellita,
I'm sorry to say the melting point of shea is 89-95 F
For cocoa that's 93-100.
So yes, it's normal. I think the only way to avoid this is by keeping it cool... but I'm not an expert :p

I'd guess you'd have to use coolers at markets and shows. I'm sure the market pros will chime in with ideas.

Honestly, I just would not sell body butter in weather like that. You may be able to keep it cool with a cooler at a market, but what about the customer taking it home? It can be an awful mess for them when the customer ultimately gets home. This could affect future sales and the customer may for good reason not recommend you to others. Perhaps other posters have a good solution, but I can't think of anything aside from holding off sellling it.

You want it to melt. The joy of body butter is it melts on contact w/ your skin, which is approz 98 degrees.

Most people do not take butters to summer shows. Those that do tend to keep them in a cooler & have a big sign that reads "ask me about my body butter". You could keep a sampler jar in a bowl of ice for people to sample.

It's not a good idea to ship in warmer months either. I shipped 3 dozen jars out w/ my very 1st wholesale account... in the middle of summer.... made a HUGE mess :shock: .