Has anybody made Butter Bars from Ophelias Soapery?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am still learning the soapcalc. She has a tutorial and recipe on youtube for her Butter Bars. I sill dont know if its the name or the recipe that has me in love lol.

The recipe is as follows:

45% Olive oil
15% coconut oil
10% mango butter
10% shea butter
10% castor oil
5% cocoa butter
5% kokum butter

Superfat 6%

35% lye concentration

sodium lactate 5%
sugar 3%

so for a 1000g oils bar (to make soap for my 1300g mold)

i came up with this recipe in the soap calc. Im not sure if i am doing it right so all constructive criticism welcome lol.

also, i am missing a few of these ingredients. Has anybody tried this recipe? The end product on her video seems divine. I want to make sure i should invest in this if anybody can tell me if its as divine as i think lol

Attachments

• 0B704773-D10E-45CB-AC1E-3FD75DC7867C.png
    0B704773-D10E-45CB-AC1E-3FD75DC7867C.png
    666.6 KB · Views: 45
From the look of it, it'd be a decent body bar. Hard with moderate bubbles. The 10% castor may make tracing a tad fast but if you are not aiming for a complex design it should be fine.
I personally don't use mango butter or kokum butter as they are just too expensive for me but I've heard good things about mango butter. I'd try a smaller batch if cost is a concern for you. My usual batch is around 400-600g oils.

I also suggest making a small batch. This is a expensive recipe to make a big amount only to end up hating it.
I know personally I wouldn't like it, too much olive and too much butters but others would love it.

I make a 59% shea butter bar with 12% CO, 5% Castor, 24% any liquid oil other than OO, 3% superfat with a min 5-month cure. It makes a lovely bubbly gentle bar of soap. The longer it cures the better it will lather. OO can be used, I just dislike OO.