Fragrance oil don’t breathe fumes?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

candleskandk

Reaction score
Hi
I’m new to all this, and trying to start up a side business from home.
I’ve brought some candle fragrance oils and most have been great. But last night I lit one as a test burn and my partner got an instant headache. When I checked the CLP info it says avoid breathing the fumes.....
isn’t that the whole point?
Are these safe to use with that warning?
Has anyone else come across this?
Thanks

When you work with fragrance oils or essential oils as a maker, you're going to be inhaling concentrated vapors possibly for long periods of time. It's a smart thing to wear respiratory protection rated to remove organic vapors whenever you're making your products to reduce your amount of exposure to these vapors. And use good ventilation in the area where you use the scents so the indoor air stays as fresh/pure as possible.

As a customer, a person is inhaling less concentrated doses often for a shorter time. That kind of exposure should be considerably safer.

Even if a fragrance is generally safe for most people in a candle or whatever product, that doesn't mean it's safe for everyone all of the time. Some people get migranes triggered by scents, but that doesn't mean they can't enjoy scents, they just have to learn which ones to avoid and which ones work. My husband is sensitive to some fragrances too, so I give him a light whiff of any fragrances I buy. If he reacts to one, I don't use that fragrance.