First Time with Soap Calc - Check?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thinkativeone

Reaction score
I have made pure 100% olive oil (castile) soap before but this is my first time using Soap Calc. Rather than use the recipe I have used before (and run through another lye calculator) I thought I'd give SC a whirl. Mainly because this time around I want to make an 8 lb. batch, and I need to superfat more than 5%. The Essential 7 lye calculator I was using only had 5, 9, and 0% superfat options. Someone on here thought I could try 8% since I wash my hands a lot and even 5% can be a bit stripping for me.

Below is what I came up with, should I go ahead and proceed with weighing as per Soap Calc's instructions? I'd like to make the soap tonight (or at the latest, tomorrow, but would prefer pretty quick here). Thanks!

Super Fat/Discount 8 %
Water: 3.04 lbs OR 48.64 oz.
Lye: 0.997 lbs OR 15.953 oz.
Olive Oil: 8 lbs OR 128 oz.

Last edited:
The water as percent of oil weight is 38%. I'm not experienced enough to attempt a water discount. :-/ The lye concentration was what was automatically plugged in: 24.698 %

Is the suggestion to help everything age faster?

Last edited:
The water discount is to help the olive trace faster and not take so long to get it out of the mold. Some people have said it reduces cure time but but I personally don't care for 100% olive until it's cured at least a year.

It's not going to be difficult to use 33% lye concentration. The 2 lbs of water is still slightly over twice the amount of the lye. If it make you feel more comfortable, use less of a discount - split the difference between 3 lbs and 2 lbs and use 2.5 lbs. However, you can use the full amount of water but it will just take a little longer to get it out of the mold.