First show coming up.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tiristia

Reaction score
I have my first show coming up. There is a nice one day festival in my home town every year for July 4th. I paid $60 for a booth. They give preference to people who were there last year, then residence, then whoever. They also make certain there are not multiple booths selling the same kind of thing. I’m a resident and evidently I was the first soaper to put in an application because I found out yesterday I got a booth.

I have been working like crazy trying to get enough soap together to take. I found soap savers at BB&B yesterday two for $0.99. I bought 20 packs. My main worry is it is an outside event, so if it rains I am hosed. I will have a bunch of stuff with no place to sell it.

It isn't specifically a craft show. I'm not sure if that will be a bad thing or not. But I think they will have a bunch of random stuff. From what I remember it is mostly food vendors. I have not gone to it in about 3 years. But when my daughter was a child we went every year. It always seemed like most the community did the same.

Have as much product to keep the table from looking empty.
Spend some time working on presentation.
Have all prices very easy to see.
Bring lots of $1 and $5 bills for change.
Bring brown paper "lunch" bags to give customers to put there purchase in.
Wear comfortable clothes, bring plenty of drinks & snacks.
If your booth doesn't have shade then it's a good idea to bring your own.

I also bring a pad of paper and a pencil so I can draw when things are slow.