First attempt at Oven HP gone bad?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jola

Reaction score
I did this a week or two ago but have just gotten the pics taken to put up... this was my first attempt at oven hot process. It was also the first time I used clay in my soap (bentonite).

I did part of the batch CP and it looks "normal". The rest of the batch I did in individual molds and put in in the oven heated to 170-200, turned the oven off when I put the soap in and left it there over night.

This is what I ended up with... (Click to make them larger)
The shell kind of shape has little hair type things on it and the rounds look wet in the middle. What went wrong? I thought about rebatching it, mostly just because I haven't rebatched anything yet, but there isn't that much of the messed up soap. I'm hoping I can use it, even if it is kind of ugly.

I've never done CPHP before but when I used my plastic tray mould I did get that funny white stuff both times (the only 2 times I used it). I wish I new what it was from

hrmmm... this was oven HP, not CPHP, but I did use silicone molds. I didn't even think that the molds or size could be the cause of it. I've used the same mold for regular CP and no prob.

I've ended up with soap like that before. I can't say for sure, but I believe it's from overheating??? And don't use those molds from Michael's/Hobby Lobby in the oven. They will warp on you.

Hummm, to me it sounds like you were doing CPHP where you pour CP into moulds and force gel in a hot oven. With oven HP you make CP to trace then put in an oven at about 100C (200F) for about an hour, stir, and put cooked soap in your moulds and let cool.