Finished my first batch

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dr Ted

Reaction score
Hi all!

My parents named me Greg but all my friends call me Ted. I'm not a real doctor, but I play one on the internet :p

I've been reading w/o registering for a few months now, while I studied the process and assembled my equipment, and today I finally made my first batch. It's small - but it's a start!

Part of my education was "The Everything Soapmaking Book", and I used a 1lb recipe that was in there. If anyone can suggest any other books, I'd be greatly appreciative.

I was stunned at how smoothly it all happened. I've been making my own beer for years, this was much easier! I look forward to making more. I was hoping I'd enjoy the process and it was better than anticipated.

Anyway I look forward to making your virtual acquaintance, and if you are in York Region north of Toronto, perhaps we could swap soap someday. :)

Oh yeah! Here is a photo of my meager first batch, taken moments after I poured it into the molds
first-soap.JPG

Colophon: This soap made while listening to Oh, Inverted World by The Shins

It contains:
9 oz coconut oil
4 oz olive oli
0.5 oz eucalyptus oil
5 oz water
1.9 oz lye

It was supposed to be 4.5 oz each coconut and palm oil, but I forgot to write palm oil on my shopping list today and not having it was not going to stop me. I wanted to make soap today, dammit, and my book has said that experimentation is a great thing. Please, let me know if you think this soap will be dangerous - and why, I need to learn these things.

Cheers!

ps: if you are going out tonight to look at the larger than usual full moon, watch out for larger than usual werewolves :p

Hi Dr. Ted,

Welcome to the forum! :D

Your soap looks great - very creamy in appearance. Good job!