Favorite fragrances oils out there?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lathered_up

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to soap making and haven't had much success with the fragrances I have chosen. Normally I fragrance at about 3-5 % and some have faded out completely or morphed to the point where they smelled like flowery vomit (seriously). The few that I like are:
1. sweet orange mango- Soap Saloon
2. blue hawaiian- Natures garden candles
3. spiced mahogany- Bramble berry

I have purchased many others but most have been disappointing. Any suggestions? I'm going to make a 2.5 lb. batch of soap tomorrow using blackberry fizz from Nature's garden candles and I'm hoping that the scent will stick this time.

A great resource is the soap scent review board at http://soapscentreview.obisoap.ca/index.php

You will need to register and will have to do so from a paid account (no yahoo, google, aol, msn). It has thousands of reviews from real soapers about sticking, fading, morphing, misbehaving, usage rates, discoloration, etc. A wonderful resource.

Good luck! I have found FOs to be very hit or miss. I have had reasonably good luck with Brambleberry, the Scent Works, AHRE, and Southern Soapers.

I've been very happy with White Tea & Ginger from Peak. It's one of the few FOs that everyone in my family likes and it sticks very well. The last batch I made with it is about 7 months old and the remaining bars still smell strong. Of course, what I consider strong may not necessarily be what you consider to be strong. I think I used it at .8 oz ppo.

I second the resource that judymoody mentioned and posted a link to above. I hardly ever buy FOs without checking it out first. Here's an abbreviated list of some of my favorite and strong FOs in CP:

From Daystar:

Paradise
Salty Sailor
Blooming Violets

From SweetCakes:

Pomegranate
Mango Tea
Green Apple
Santa's Pipe