discounting water

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vivcarm

Reaction score
I make an olive oil soap for my Dad, and it takes a while to trace with the stick blender and harden, I use soap calc and water of 38%, having read here about water discounting what amount should I discount by, just to get it to trace and harden that little bit quicker? I have never done discounting before. :D

i just started doing this, discount 1 oz,
i tried w hp, wouldnt do that again ,it gets very thick.

I soaped a castile using 45% before. It was fantastically hard after just a few hours. Took just a minute or two to trace.

The term 'discount' in reference to how much water you use in your recipe is misleading.

You 'discount' Lye, or superfat.

Water can be figured 2 ways. I believe soapcalcs default uses water as a percentage of oils, figured by the weight of the oils without regard for specific sap values or lye discount.

I find it easier to use a lye to water ratio, 1.5:1 or 40% lye to 60% water. If your not comfortable using that little water you can up the percentage of water.

ooh! I'm a little bit confused now, but starting to get my head around it! oz are no good for me only grams and kilos, but I think I understand the 40/60 ratio, so thank you for that, just have to get some supplies in now! :D

I agree with Deda that the term 'discounting' when talking about water can be misleading. I use the term 'Lye Solution/Concentration' instead (the ratio of water to the specific lye amount for your batch).