Water discount

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kiaadw

Reaction score
So I am new to soap making, but im looking into doing a water discount for my soap recipe, I've watched multiple YouTube videos and understanding how to do it can be a bit complicated for me to understand, so for my soap recipe it consist of 5.13oz of lye and 11.47oz of water is it safe for me to do 5.13oz lye and 5.13oz of water, 1:1? or is that too low? and would accelerate very quickly? If anyone has any recommended water discounts for this recipe for a beginner it would be very appreciated. Thank you!

What are you trying to achieve with your water discount? Quicker trace? Shorter cure (a fallacy BTW)? What has made you want to try it? Lye needs at least the same amount of weight in water to dissolve, so I wouldn't go any lower than 1:1.

I agree with KiwiMoose! I suggest if you are going to try it that you experiment with just an Ounce or two less than your recipe calls for. That can make a big difference in the feel and appearance of your finished soap. See how it goes.

Also in my experience with my own standard formula, I finally Figured out that I was seeing more ash formation in batches with water discounts, so I don’t bother anymore. This is formula/ingredient-specific so may not be an issue for you but just something to consider. Light ash on soap tops can be very pretty, but I find more than that annoying. Ash can be removed but it’s time consuming if there’s a lot of soap.
have fun, keep good notes!

There is no such thing as a 'water discount'...less water means higher Lye Concentration. So if you are currenting making soap with a 33% Lye Concentration, simply change it to 34% or 35% or 37%.