color seperation or what?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Curefortheend

Reaction score
Hi all,

Im fairly new to CP soap and have been having problems with my CP recipes. Ive done two seperate batches to ensure that I am following the recipes perfectly and both times After I demold, this is what I see ( see pic)

Ive done it with blue and white as well as black and white. Both have the same problem . It looks like the color has tightened and left transluscent gaps of colorless "oil" looking soap inbetween.

Im using a fairly basic soap recipe just to play with the colorants and fragrances. I stick blended everything really well to incorporate the colors and i monitored my temperatures of lye and oils to make sure they were equal before i mixed.

Im hesitant to waste more supplies If this is going to keep happening... oddly enough it doesnt happy at all with my HP soap.

Any help would be apppreciated!

R.

IMAG0782 (478x800).jpg

Hello and welcome :)

That looks like stearic streaks to me. If you would like to post your recipe and your process, that usually makes it easier to help troubleshoot, but my guess is that you are using a high stearic recipe and soaping at too cool a temperature. The same recipe in hot process won't leave streaks, which expains the differences you are seeing. Even if your temps are close to equal, too cool means the stearic will separate out. Try increasing your soaping temp to 115-120F

HTH

recipe and method and still not working

hi there.

thanks for responding. I do soap at 120. its my go to number. i read on a thread that it can be caused by over insulation and one person recommended cooling and preventing gel phase which i dont really want to do.

should i increase my temps even higher then 120?

my recipe is

30% olive
30% shea butter
20% coconut 76
20% palm

12.16 oz water
4.4 oz lye