Cold lye mixture

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Celestial1124

Reaction score
I am pretty new to soap making, made a few batches a few years ago and decided to try again with a different recipe. My instructions say the oils should be 90-120 degrees, and the lye mixture should get to 90 degrees before adding oils. I made a small test batch (about 12 ounces) of goat milk soap, used an ice bath so the milk wouldn't get too hot (and frozen goat milk) but the temp of the lye and milk mixture never got above 60 degrees (even after taking off the ice) I wonder if it would have if I had waited longer (waited about 5 min) or if something in the recipe caused it not to get hot enough? After adding oils and bringing it to trace it was about 70 degrees. Will there be an issue with the safety of the soap? Recipe attached.

Attachments

• IMG_20230702_064443~2.jpg
    IMG_20230702_064443~2.jpg
    308.8 KB · Views: 0
Good job starting with a small batch as you are learning! As long as your lye dissolved completely, you should be fine. It is hard to get it dissolved and keep it dissolved below 65F, so next time I'd skip the ice bath. :)

As an aside, that will be a very "cleansing" soap due to the high amount of coconut oil. The term "cleansing" refers to how much it strips the oils off your skin, aka, dries out your skin. Consider dropping the CO to about 20%, and upping the lard to 46%. Then you can also drop your superfat to only 3%, since the recipe already has a high conditioning number. Higher superfat = more soap scum, more clogged pipes, etc.

One last thing: using the "lye concentration" setting instead of the default "water as percent of oils" will give you more consistent results with different batch sizes. Try 33% lye concentration next time - it's a great place for a beginner to start.