Carrot recipe for a newbie?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, everyone!
I am new to the soapmaking world. My husband and I have made 2 batches so far - peppermint for him and jasmine for me. Both CP. Peppermint has been curing for 4 weeks, and he is going to try it tonight! We are so excited lol. My next batch - I would LOVE to make carrot soap. But, I have yet to find a CP recipe that would make soap smell like carrot and have orange color, and not have animal fats or palm oil in it. If anyone has a recipe, do you mind sharing with me?
And if not, then here's one I came up with :)

Coconut oil - 22%
Olive oil - 50%
Walnut oil - 8%
Canola oil - 15%
Castor oil - 5%

CP. Small batch with just 1 lb of oils. I am going to put 1 tbsp of salt for hardness and 1 tbsp of sugar for bubbles in the water before adding lye. Stir until dissolved, add lye. Add water/lye solution into oils at about 90-100 degrees. At light trace, I want to add 1 tbsp of honey, 2 tbsp of carrot purée (baby food) and 1 tbsp of pumpkin seed oil. No FO or EO.

Soapcalc gives these characteristics to my soap recipe:
Hardness (29-54) 28
Cleansing (12-22) 15
Conditioning (44-69) 68
Bubbly (14-46) 19
Creamy (16-48 ) 17
Iodine (41-70) 77
INS (136-165) 126

So, it's far from being perfect. I am hoping that salt will up the hardness and sugar - bubbles. I am fine with cleansing and conditioning numbers. I also have RBO, avocado oil, almond oil and jojoba oil on hand. My questions are
1. How do you like the recipe?
2. Considering I'm putting PSO at trace, should I still put 5% SF into soapcalc for calculations?
3. Since I'm adding carrot purée at trace, do I use less water for water/lye solution because of it? Of course, everything will be carefully measured out. And do I still discount water at 38% in soapcalc?
4. Should I use carrot juice instead of carrot purée?