Career change advice wanted!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
If you're involved in Speech Language pathology - especially as an assistant, please tell me what you think of it for a 2nd career in middle age.

If you're involved in Applied Behavior Analysis, especially as a BCaBA, please tell me what you think of it for a 2nd career in middle age.

Also considering going into Elementary education, or Special education. Please talk to me!

Any other ideas I haven't mentioned.....feel free to speak up!

I was a Full-Charge Bookkeeper and after 25+ years decided I needed a change because I gotten to hate it. So I went back to school at age 48 to become a Web Designer and Developer. Today I’m a Senior Staff Accountant for a growing CPA firm. So what happened? I didn’t hate bookkeeping, I hated being bored, I hated the monotony of doing the same thing day in and day it and there is only so much Solitaire you can play. As a Staff Accountant, I have approximately 30 clients that I do tax accounting for on a regular basis, I handle Human Resources for them, Worker’s Comp Audits, payroll tax issues, etc. I oversee three other Staff Accountants, meet with clients as needed and order office supplies (our Office Manager decided to not come back after she had her baby). I’m never bored, every day is different and I haven’t played a single game of Solitaire.

One of my college friends just graduated with a masters in speech pathology. Mostly she’s complaining about how COVID had changed the last part of her training. Now that things are opening up she’s complaining about how slow the people who are processing her license are.