Botch first batch

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stationdragon

Reaction score
Hey people, I'm new to soap making and been looking forward to it for a few weeks now. I decided the time was right to get a feel for CP soap making and had a couple of attempts this week but I've hit some obstacles. Could you please have a look at this and see what you think, I'd really really appreciate that as it's getting me down a bit.

I made my first batch 3 days ago using 30% olive oil, 10% sunflower oil and 60% tallow. I entered the information into soapcalc and took down the measurements down to the gram. I measured everything out accurately, added everything in the right order, blended until there was a light embossed imprint of the stick blender on the surface of the batter when I raised it out. I then added a 5% sweet almond oil superfat, some food grade strawberry fragrance (water based) and cosmetic grade vanilla pearl fragrance and mixed thoroughly again with the blender before separating into different jugs to colour. I used food grade pink colouring which turned the batter a dirty cream colour (disappointingly) and orange food colouring to another jug and left the 3rd jug plain (the orange took very nicely).
I then poured in consecutively and swirled with a bamboo skewer. I did this into a 3.5 inch tall cat litter tray (brand new and unused), put it to one side and covered and wrapped it with towels.
In an hour it had started to gel and was producing much heat but it never reached the sides, unfortunately the top cracked when I checked it at one point but that was through my own heavyhandedness and not a result of the process.
Now after 3 days it's sticky, waxy and greasy and I had to break the mould to release it, I've cut it up to see if it will harden but I'm not confident this batch has worked.