Book/Website Recommendations

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ad213812

Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I am completely new to soap making and was wondering if anybody has any suggestions as to good books and websites suitable for a newbie.

There are some really impressive looking soaps made by the members of this community and I want to make some too :D

Welcome :D There IS a wealth of information here. My favorite that I have come across is in German. I haven't really found a favorite in english yet. :?

Millers is an excellent place to start too.

Thanks for the recommendations.

Cuckoo Bananas I would try the library but I live quite a distance away and like most people, my spare time is limited so I tend to buy books online.

IrishLass Thanks for the links and names to look out for . There seems to be enough on the sites to keep me out of trouble for a while:)

Jezzy, it would take me years to get through all the wonderful info the community has rather generously shared on this fourm. Though I'm still young so I might manage to get through it all by the time I'm 80 :shock:

I soooooo can't wait to get started. While I'm here does anyone have any info about decent equipment they'd be willing to share? I always find that the best info comes from those who are directly involved and from what I've seen so far, they don't come much more involved than the members of this forum :p

Hit up the Dollar Tree! I got a WEALTH of glass bowls, measuring cups, wooden/plastic/stainless spoons/knives and disposable tupperware containers there! Especially since we shouldn't use anything that we'd use to make food, it's nice if it's cheap to buy! <3 And I find the Dollar Tree stores have higher quality cheap stuff rather than just being cheap all around. <3