Book Reviews

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kelleyaynn

Reaction score
People have asked about soaping books. I thought that it might be useful to start a thread that reviews soaping books out there. Maybe make it a sticky? I'd love to hear about books I don't have, to see which ones might be worth getting. Oh - and how about websites?

So I'm going to start. Here are my contributions:

Smart Soapmaking by Anne Watson. This is the book that taught me how to make soap. I did look at another book lots of people on here like, but that one was so full of information I was overwhelmed at it all for a total newbie. This one dispels a lot of myths, stresses safety but reassures at the same time, and gives well-written, easy to follow step-by-step instructions. She lists equipment needed, and lays everything out in a very organized manner. She also has several recipes, including her suggested starter. I've made two of her recipes, and more or less combined them for my go-to shower soap. She also talks about creating recipes and explains INS. Those who want to make their own recipes will want more detailed information, but it's a good start. There are no photographs, just drawings, but that didn't bother me at all. Her descriptions are worth a good photo. I highly recommend it for people new to making CP soap. It gives enough information without being overwhelming.

Milk Soapmaking