Body butter snaffu

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SimplyE

Reaction score
It has been a while since I have done a body butter. So...the time I left it in the freezer was apparently too long, even at only a couple of minutes each time. With the final whip, it "seized" after whipping beautifully and ended up so hard and brittle, that it totally sucked! I need a refresher...

You can remelt it and start again. I am no big expert though. But maybe you didn' add enough liquid oils?

Yeah, I remelted it. It is the same ratio as what I have used before. I just changed the soft oils around a bit. After remelting, I did NOT put it in the freezer between whipping. It is better. I think next time, I am not going to melt it as much.

You might try whipping it in an ice bath. Use a large kettle or bowl with ice
inside, nestle a smaller bowl (holding your oils) in the ice while you whip.

I read in one thread that some people don't melt the butter, but whip it at
room temperature while they add the soft oils. Haven't tried this idea yet-
but it sounds do-able!

bombus said:
I read in one thread that some people don't melt the butter, but whip it at
room temperature while they add the soft oils. Haven't tried this idea yet-
but it sounds do-able!

I have read this too and will try this next time. Seems like a better way to go. Thanks!

when I did butters I
- didn't melt all the way. just softened
- didn't use cocoa butter. as much as I love it, it stiffens. I love palm, mango, or (gasp) lard
- used FCO or cyclo to cut down on the greasies (I hate cornstarch)
- didn't do the fridge thing because I could never get it out on time and I hated all the back and forth (as in: left it too long in the freezer, warmed it up, left it too long in the freezer...

carebear said:
when I did butters I
- didn't melt all the way. just softened