Beginner question: mildness/ harshness of CP soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meepocow

Reaction score
Hello! Beginner here!

I made my very first (!) loaf of soap, on October 7th, and sliced it on October 8th (14ish hours was probably too soon, but we were heading out of town and I didn't know if it would be rock hard after that - turned out it would've been fine!).

We got home today, and I couldn't help myself. I picked up a few scraps of my soap to see how it would wash up. It is still pretty soft, and did give some lather. However, when I rinsed off and dried my hands, they were PARCHED. I am freaking out now that I've made some sort of awful, skin-sucking soap. Attaching the formula I followed - closely linked to a YouTube video - as well as some photos:
310328305_5601863606523367_4028656978465562053_n.jpg

310445251_506750094629911_1667273791376109892_n.jpg

QUESTION: Does soap get more mild as it cures? Is my formula way off? Any other suggestions appreciated!!

Attachments

• Soap Recipe_Gentle Oatmeal and Clay.pdf
    172 KB · Views: 0
Pretty soap ! Amazing for a first timer!!!
10 10 10.gif

Does soap get more mild as it cures?
Yes. The reaction you had is typical of "fresh" soap. Give it time to do its thing and it will be fine.
Is my formula way off?
Nope. Wait 4-6 weeks to see how it is after it cures. At that time you can determine if you want to tweak it for more lather? more conditioning? etc.
Any other suggestions appreciated!!
In your introduction I noticed that you like to use essential oils and natural colorants. That's how I started out too. You may enjoy reading Tanya of Lovely Greens Blog about Gardening and Making Natural Soaps.