After Pouring..HELP

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tina05

Reaction score
Hi guys,
As I said before, I am a rookie. I keep having issues with temp after pouring. It has happened twice that I put the soap to insulate, so it could go through gel phase but I don’t know how long should I do that for, because it has cracked in the middle. I live in south FL so it is hot. Please advice how long should I insulate for to keep the bright colors but not cracking. Thanks

No, there is no set temp. Soap will get darker and jello like when in full gel.

You'll need to check it every hour or so, once its completly dark unwrap. Some recipes can also overheat and crack before going into gel.

I get often get cracking when I try to gel so I never encourage gel anymore. I just let the soap do what it wants to.

Here is a photo of gelling soap vs not gelling. The gel one isn't quite complete as it hasn't reached the ends yet.

Attachments

• soap-gelling-1024x768.jpg
    soap-gelling-1024x768.jpg
    100.7 KB · Views: 24
No, there is no set temp. Soap will get darker and jello like when in full gel.

You'll need to check it every hour or so, once its completly dark unwrap. Some recipes can also overheat and crack before going into gel.

I get often get cracking when I try to gel so I never encourage gel anymore. I just let the soap do what it wants to.

Here is a photo of gelling soap vs not gelling. The gel one isn't quite complete as it hasn't reached the ends yet.
Thank you Obsidian! That was very helpful! I will try to continue practicing 🤗

Hi guys,