Advice on make a natural moisturizing soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kuurt

Reaction score
I'm new to soap making and I want to make my own soap that is natural, has oils that are good for you, and is moisturizing.

Natural in the sense that it's made from natural ingredients instead of some of these store baught brands that are not actually soap but detergent bars.

With oils that are good for you like olive oil, which has to be better for you then some of these other oils.

And moisturizing is important to me because with some soaps my skin feels dry.

So I was thinking I should make an olive oil soap which is natural, has anti-oxidents that are probably good for your skin, and is supposed to be moisturizing. I was going to making a 100% olive oil soap until I read in a book on soap making that you shouldn't do that. It said you should have at least 10% coconut oil in your olive oil soaps. I think the reason was that it helps to create a lather (suds).

So now I'm thinking, 90% olive oil and 10% coconut oil.

What do you think? Any advice for a new soap maker?

100% Olive Oil is going to be the most gentle. I've never heard that you "shouldn't" make it but after experimenting with different percentages, I found that it was just too slimy for my taste. I actually make mine with 85% OO and 15% CO and that seems just right for my family and friends.