Necessary Tools

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LovelyMalia

Reaction score
What do you find to be necessary when you are making soap?

I'm a beginner and would like to hear the things you all use for soap making. I've been doing some shopping lately and wanna make sure I have all of my bases covered before my lye & ingredients come in the mail!

Thanks in advance! :D

You need a digital scale, a couple of thermometers, and a stickblender is helpful. Also rubber gloves and some construction goggles to protect your eyes. A pile of plastic containers, some of which have a handle and spout (but that's just a luxury). Find yourself something that will serve as a mold, like a Pringles can. a couple of stainless steel pots (no aluminum). The rest you can probably scrounge up in your kitchen cupboard.

Thrift shops and ebay are your friends!

I use mostly heavy duty HDPE plastic containers, many of them recycled for measuring and mixing. Pyrex is bad - ongoing contact with lye solution can cause micro fissures and the container could eventually shatter. Aluminum is a big no-no around lye (can produce explosive gas).

As Esther said, an accurate digital scale, stick blender, goggles and gloves are the most essential tools in my soapmaking kit.

Good luck and let us know how your first batch goes.

Actually, its funny...I raided a thrift shop today! Took a doubler boiler, a large stainless steel pot and a small stainless steel pot.

I also found this stainless steel steamer with a basket that I took-mainly because of the spout and it had measurements going up the side of it.

I have the scale and a thermometer is on its way. I don't think I have safety goggles, but isn't that what men are for?! I'll raid his tool chest :D

And on a random note, I bought an awesome vintage trunk at the thrift store today, too...psyched to clean it out!