weird swirly indents and cold temp soapmaking

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sevenebulas

Reaction score
I've been soapmaking for several years but recently made several changes. I started doing it in the cold basement, switched from using 38% water to 33% lye solution (which solved my soda ash issues!), using more varied scents (some make it crack! ahh!) and have been experimenting with soaping at cold temperatures so I can do more masterbatching (I used to soap between 100 and 110 degrees) and hopefully avoid cracking issues. Suddenly I feel like a newbie because I keep having problems I've never had before.

My latest problem was with a batch where lye and oils were both at 70 degrees (my oils were clear, not cloudy). I was making a christmas batch with cocoa butter, which I've done once at 100F before, but tried doing it at 70F two days ago. When I cut it a day later, it had weird swirling impressions in the slices instead of being smooth. I use a wood mold and don't insulate so it stayed pretty cool. I used sodium lactate also..is it possible not stirring it in evenly could cause the uneven surface? Here is a picture. It's hard to see but more obvious near the top.

It's not a huge problem but I just wish I understood what was happening.

IMG_20171106_083312103.jpg

Thank you! No it was slow to trace and I had to stick blend more than usual for the layers. I don't know why but adding cocoa butter to my normal recipe has slowed trace compared to normal. The swirl is something you can feel with your fingers like it's bumpy. The micas should have been well dispersed, I premixed into oil and then stickblended oil into each portion of soap batter.

This is interesting - and I can't wait to see where this discussion goes.