indented lines in one part of soap + discoloration

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thirdway_lhl

Reaction score
Hello! I've been learning from and reading SMF for a couple years now but finally registered šŸ„‚

I've been having some trouble making uncomplicated soap batches lately, so I thought I'd post here to see if anyone can help identify what's going on in the latest batch.

I used to live in a tropical climate and recently moved to the midwest (US) and have been having some issues with partial gel. Last night, I tried CPOP for the first time - I soaped with oils and lye between 109-114F (if I remember correctly!), stuck it in the oven at 175F for about 20min, then turned off the oven and left it there overnight. The soap was totally cool (when I touched the outside of the mold) in the morning - this is in contrast to other recent batches where I just insulate with two towels and leave it on the counter overnight - those batches are often still warm to the touch in the morning. Anyhow...I digress...

There are several issues with this soap - there's definitely partial gel in the center (which surprised me, because I was really thinking I would avoid it by CPOPing)...and my new TD didn't disperse well :( But the mysteries I'm hoping to get some input on...
- what caused the indented lines running horizontally in the green layer? Are these glycerin rivers? Or essential oils that maybe didn't get fully incorporated? I did, however, stick blend a bit after I put in the essential oil blend...maybe that wasn't a good idea but I thought that would help make sure they were properly incorporated. What this actually reminds me of is photos of "ghost swirls" I've seen...but that is a water difference...so I'm a bit stumped.