Soapmaking Spreadsheet Recipe Tool

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I’m new here but not new to soap-making. As a hobby, I’ve been making cold-process soaps for a little over a decade. Still, 1689985450293.png lots to learn which makes it all fun. The pressure of work made me drop most hobbies but not any more.

I recently retired and can do fun stuff again.

My work compelled me to spend a lot of time working in Excel, so, I thought this would be a useful tool to help with my hobby. As someone who hates reinventing the wheel, I looked to see what tools were already available. There were a few useful ones out there but nothing that would do all the things I wanted. So, I bit the bullet and decided to build one myself.

Having built it and tested it, I now wonder if anyone else would be interested in using it. As a hobbyist, I can’t justify the costs of commercial software. I’m sure there are others in the same boat. I’m offering this for free (without any liability etc.) It’s just a tool for designing soap recipes and seeing what they would cost. You should, of course, always double-check your oil/lye ratios in another tool like the redoubtable SoapCalc (SoapCalc). I certainly do.

Anyway, I’m not claiming that this is better than any other tool available free. It just suits my needs well - and may work for you too. I welcome any feedback but don’t promise to do anything about it. Life can be uncertain and I don’t intend to spend my dotage looking at a screen when there’s fun stuff I could be doing.