Too new for complex recipes?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ozzietx

Reaction score
I am very new to soap making. I’ve been doing this for about a month. I have made 4 successful batches of soap. I may have gotten too big for my britches( as we say in Texas).

Since I did well on the 4 batches previous, I thought I would attempt a more complex recipe.
I really like the idea of a soap for working folks. After reviewing Earlene’s blacksmith soap, I thought I would give it a try.
This recipe had many new to me ingredients that would require techniques that I had not attempted. I have not used EDTA, borax, KOH,
Pumice, or honey.
So, here are the issues that I had:
First issue was that the borax did not dissolve well into the water. Second issue was that the EDTA did not dissolve well into the water.
When I put the KOH solution into the NaOH solution a thin crust developed on the surface.
When I added the honey to my warm borax mixture it turned light brown. When I added this mixture to the KOH/NaOH solution it turned very dark brown. Once I added the lye to my oils, and mixed with an immersion blender, it went to trace pretty quickly.
My colors were obviously very dirty looking.
I poured my batter into a 3” pvc mold. It got really hot and did a small volcano. It’s curing at the moment.
My NaOh was about 120° my oil was at 96°.
How do you dissolve borax into water?
I used the required boiling water and kept it hot in a Bain Marie.
How do I dissolve EDTA into water?
I did not have a ready solution so I mixed a50% solution with 3.5grams each of water and EDTA. I also kept this warm.
Why did I get the crust on the lye solution?
Why did the honey turn brown? I suspect it scorched.
Did the honey into the lye solution scorch it even more?
I’m not sure this batch will turn out, but I’m betting there is a whole lot to learn here.