Significant soap darkening

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have been making CP goats milk soap for a few years now, but am new to this forum. I have recently started experimenting with different colors and swirl techniques, with success. I use only natural colorants and avoid vanilla fragrance oils to prevent browning. I have been having an issue with my pretty swirls, they look amazing when first cut but end up dull and dark by the time they have dried for 4 weeks.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

My recipe (goats milk instead of water) and example images (before & after) are attached. I use about 5 drops of ROE, pink clay, dried dill, indigo powder and kaolin for the "white" part.

I use frozen goats milk, and soap at ~100F. I do not insulate and generally do not achieve any gel phase (on purpose). I unmold and cut within 24-48 hours. This particular batch is cranberry fragrance oil.

ImageUploadedBySoap Making1394375745.802352.jpg
ImageUploadedBySoap Making1394375776.253443.jpg
ImageUploadedBySoap Making1394375783.826209.jpg

Thank you for any help!

There are non vanilla scents that still discolor, could be that. I've also read that ROE can cause discoloring, you might try some bright colors but leave the extract out and see if that helps.

It is the goat milk. I have the same issues. Swirls with indigo will not only fade but the color boundaries seem to blur too. Purple from alkanet root infusions stays more within its boundaries, but it darkens too. Paprika will also fade (it fades on non goat milk soaps too unless you use a lot and then it will accelerate trace)

I have resorted to single colors when using indigo, and expecting that I will get green instead of blue.