Seized Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KatieShephard

Reaction score
Since I'm new to soaping, I hadn't quite seen this before...but I'm taking it that this is what a seized soap, or "soap on a rope" looks like. Came across this today on YouTube and thought I'd share with my fellow newbies. Really wish that she continued the video to show us what to do next!

http://youtu.be/w84pJD_KYgk

Last edited:
how about now? I was trying to link through my kindle...not working so well! now I'm on my pc...it should work

Worked for me.

I would have just smoothed the soap down in that container, and let it gel and harden there. But she is going to rebatch in the crock pot to make a HP soap. If you insist on transferring seized soap to a mold, you glop and shove the soap in and try to push out the air bubbles.

Same happened to me last week. So disappointing, not even mentioning the cost. Definitely will be doing small test next time when I use a new fragrence..

Same happened to me last week. So disappointing, not even mentioning the cost. Definitely will be doing small test next time when I use a new fragrence..

So what did you end up doing with it? Did you just leave it in the container to gel and do it's thing? Or did you throw it in the crock and put it on heat?

As soon as it started getting thick, she should have poured it in a mold. I would classify that as fast acceleration, not quite seize.

I tried to crock pot it as soon as it went wrong. Just lots of small hard lumps in oil, got so fed up, I put it in a pot to cool. Next day it was the same, should have tried to do something with it, I suppose, but I didn't like the smell either so binned it!!