Attaching Pre-made Embeds on top of CP soaps

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tienne

Reaction score
Hi guys!

One of my friends just got a new cat and I wanted to make her some rimmed oval soaps with cat cameos on top. I have bought some small silicone moulds for making the cameos, but I am unsure of how best to proceed.

Should I make the cameos using the same CP batter as the soap itself or would it be okay to use MP to make them?

After I unmould the soaps, what would be the best way to get the cameos stuck onto the soaps? Should I just "glue" them on top with water or should I use Isopropyl alcohol or? Is there a difference in which way I should stick them on depending on if the cameos are MP or CP? (I have never tried using MP before, but I do have some if necessary.) I really want to try and avoid getting any smooshy edges between the cameos and the soap.

If anyone has any advise for sticking pre-made embeds on top of soaps, it would be greatly appreciated.

The ovals soap I want to make have a flat surface (Crafter's Choice Mold 1604) and here's what the cameos I want stuck on top would look like;

$_1.JPG

Mold 1604 (Small).jpeg

Last edited:
that is one cute mold! are u gonna do it mp? i mean the embed will be nicer if done in 2 colors. this is just a quick think, but maybe it's gonna be easier to place the embed to a cp soap, better suspension. wait till it's harden a bit and place the embed gently. it needs to be the right consistency, otherwise it will sunk. when i put small raspberry mp embeds on top of my cp, i placed it a lil too soon, and they sunk. so yea, wait a while me thinks.. i think it's gonna make one helluva cute gift! :)

Thanks guys!