@firefly24 I'd like to know how your M&P embeds do over time in your CP soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akseattle

Reaction score
@Firefly24 , your M&P rosettes you posted on another thread look great on your loaf. I'd like to know how they do over time in your CP soap. I'd like to use M&P embeds in my CP soap but in a discussion started by @Feelin' Soapy a couple months ago, it seems like they could be problematic. One person said M&P embeds inside the soap felt felt harder and discolored over time. Someone else said theirs broke, @Feelin' Soapy's embeds started sweating (the reason for her post in the first place.) I live in the Northwest and we have pretty high humidity, so I have to wrap M&P. We're supposed to my sure cold process has good air flow.... I have mainly been doing M&P and I love using embeds. But, I'm still a CP novice and CP embeds seems like a longgggggg ways off for me. What M&P base did you use? Did you make them a day or a couple hours before or did you just use them fresh off the press? I'd love to know more about how your M&P embeds are behaving. Thanks in advance!

Here's an update on my experience with embeds: Even though it's quicker and easier, I won't be using M&P for embeds in my CP soap anymore. As the soap ages and cures, it shrinks. The embeds don't, so they end up feeling like a lump in the soap. CP embeds take more time but are definitely worth it.

I haven’t put M&P embeds inside my CP soap, but I have put them on top several times. Sometimes they get glycerin dew, and sometimes not. When they do, I take a small paint brush and wipe it away. It takes a few passes and a lot of wiping the brush clean in between wipes on the embed, but the dew doesn’t return. I haven’t noticed the embed feeling any different once the soap is fully cured.