Gelled vs ungelled CP soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lanafana

Reaction score
I am a complete newbie. I've only made a few batches of soap with varying success so forgive my ignorant questions.

So, my soaps when cut are so smooth and creamy looking, but as they cure, they are looking quite "ashy". Not just the tops but the whole bar. I'll attach some before and after pics so you can see what I mean although I do t know if the camera will pick it up. You should know that I don't think any of my soaps gelled except a partial gelling of one. I wanted to know if this is normal for CP soap and if not what causes it and what can I do to prevent it.

Question two.... when I do the zap test for my soaps on the outside of the bar I still get a little tingle on my tongue, nothing drastic, but I feel something. When I cut the bar in half and do the same test there is usually no zap. Why?? Is this normal, should it concern me that I get a zap after approx. 2 week cure. Are ungelled soaps more zappy than gelled?

Last question, sorry!! My soaps as they cure are getting tiny white spots/dots on them. Is this normal (I'll attach pics) what causes it? Should I worry about it or is it just cosmetic? Is it from the lye?

THANK YOU EVERYONE for taking the time to read and/or reply!!! I never knew the intricacies of making soap. (Or how they'd drive me crazy) ImageUploadedBySoap Making1394729128.498080.jpg
Really ashy
ImageUploadedBySoap Making1394729197.058915.jpg
Partial gel?
ImageUploadedBySoap Making1394729318.912024.jpg
White spots (goat milk, shea butter soap)

Last edited:
Here's what they looked like when they were cut (sorry I didn't know how to add pics to first post)
ImageUploadedBySoap Making1394729701.428096.jpgImageUploadedBySoap Making1394729740.641701.jpgImageUploadedBySoap Making1394729793.299763.jpg