Interested in making soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soapyguy

Reaction score
Hello, i am just getting started in the world of soap making. My girlfriend and i hope to get to the point where we can sell our soap at the farmers market. I have a little extra cash to spend so if we fail it will be ok. Mostly doing it for fun, and hopefully a little extra cash. We do not want to use lye at all. Anyone know of any good sites to order bulk soap making supplies from?
Any help or advice is greatly appreciate
Thanks
Jeff

You have to use lye to make soap. It is essential to the soapmaking process. No lye, no soap. All of the lye is consumed in the chemical reaction that results when you combine oils and fats and lye. If you still do not want to use lye, you could still make melt and pour soap or rebatch commercial soap. It's essentially premade soap base that you melt down. There are lots of good suppliers. It depends on what you want to do. I would suggest Bramble Berry, as they have some starter melt and pour kits.

I agree with danahuff. if you dont use lye theres no way your going to get soap, my husband tried to convince me it was possible (apperently his husbands wife makes soap) but i found out after months of my husband trying to convince me it was possible that she was really doing melt and pour
Lye really isnt that bad as long as your careful. Ive never had an issue (as long as i was wearing my protective gear that is)