Why is the top of my soap wrinkly?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peterswoj

Reaction score
So, Im very new to this. The first 3 batches of soap i made came out perfect. They were nothing fancy, no colorants just EOs. I made a few more batches after that and I really crapped the bed with those. I know what happened with those. I was just to tired after working a few night shifts but still determined to make soap. Dumb idea. Anyway, this last loaf I made I made sure to follow the recipe to the T. It came to trace extremely fast before I added FO, then when cured it was all wrinkly on top. After 24 hours I cut the soap and it has been curing about a week. It feels nice, looks nice, and smells nice, I was just wondering why it traced so fast and wrinkled on top?
TIA
Pete
Rescipe: 30% Palm
35% Olive Oil
30% coconut oil
5% castor oil
.68 oz FO
water 38%
LYe concentration 27.454%
everything was just above room temp when mixed. Stick blender a couple 10 second bursts. when I realized it was coming to trace quickly I blended in the FO and poured.
AA217D16-E5FC-41EF-A3D2-2EFA444C2144.JPG

Why it traced fast? When you say above room temperature, about what would that be? Higher heat is reached in soap when more water is used, as was done in your recipe, but also other factors contribute, including temperature. Oil choices and percentages contribute to higher heat. Coconut oil is a fast heater. Was the Olive oil plain or pomace? Pomace olive oil speeds trace. So does Castor, but at only 5% it doesn't usually contribute a lot of speed, except when used in conjuction with other fast moving oils, so it adds to the percentage for the overall recipe. So, your recipe has 35% faster moving oils if your Olive oil was a non-pomace OO. But if it was pomace, then you had 70% fast moving oils. See what I mean?