Why do you CP?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bicycle808

Reaction score
I've been making soap for a few years now, and it's pretty much all been CP. I've been experimenting with liquid soap too (and doing pretty well!), which has a HP component to the methods. This has got me more curious about making HP bars, but I'm kind of set in my ways. (I like to pour soap into molds, for instance.) However, HP seems to have many advantages over CP, so... I'm torn.

If you CP instead of HP, why? Or, if you HP over CP, why? If you do both,which do you like better (& why)?

tia
-Rob

I've never really been interested in anything other than CP, soapwise...not that I don't have lots of respect for those who do such beautiful HP soaps!!
But I've been a science major all my life AND I'm something of a control freak, so CP suits me down to the ground! I enjoy the process of creating something new out of raw ingredients and the control I have over the qualities of my soap after researching different oils, etc. Sometimes an idea seems great in theory, but in reality it kind of s*cks...but I learn from every new experiment. That's what keeps it fun for me :)

I'm a weird old soul. . . well, I'm not actually an old soul (as I see it), but I love to do things the hard (or long) way. I love to anticipate the patience and the anticipation is a thrill. I love to do things that are methodical and take time. I'm weird that way. It's hard to explain, but that's why I call myself "old soul soap." I love slow processes. There's no other way to say it. And, that's why I LOVE the CP method. It feels old fashioned and archaic.